Gelareh V

Pikesville, MD

Math And Science Tutor

$25/hr

Profile

Since my childhood, I have been passionate about learning. I studied everything that even remotely interested me. After my older sister started school, I would wait for her to return home and then make her teach me whatever she had learned that day. Because of that, by the time I began school I was already years ahead. My love of learning followed me through my life, and I always kept ahead of my schoolwork. While living in Iran, I served as a teacher's assistant in my mother's Institute of English as a Foreign Language, and I privately tutored a wide range of students of all ages, primarily in high school science. I finished high school in Iran and scored among the top students in the university entrance exams but was unable to complete my higher education in my home country. Therefore, I moved to the United States with my family to pursue my dream of becoming a doctor. I attended Community College of Baltimore County from 2012 to 2015, where I acquired my Associates degree. I started my undergraduate studies in Biological Sciences at the University of Maryland, Baltimore County in the fall of 2015. I am working towards my bachelor's degree in addition to finishing the requirement of medical school. While working towards my degrees, I also tutored high school and college students in Biology, Chemistry, Physics, and Math courses. I love tutoring math because though it may seem challenging, the joy of solving a problem never gets old. When I tutor students, I usually spend a few sessions getting to know the students I am working with, and getting a feel for their personal styles of learning, as well as their limitations. Then I set up the rest of our tutoring sessions based on their needs and weaknesses. Outside the world of education, I love to spend time on good movies, books, food, and friends. I love spending time learning from my friends and the environment around me. Even when I am not in school, I try to challenge myself with work, learning new skills or things I've always wanted to try. I also recently adopted a kitten, and am enjoying the responsibility of owning a pet while simultaneously studying and working full time!

Education

B.S. Biology

Subjects of Expertise

SAT Math, ACT Math, ACT Science, GRE Math, Pre-Algebra, Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Geometry, Calculus, Statistics, Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Writing, Reading, Grammar, Vocabulary, Pre-Calculus, Elementary Math (K-6th), Elementary Science (K-6th), Elementary Reading (K-6th), Elementary Writing (K-6th), GED

Contact Gelareh V

Fill out the form below to send Gelareh V a message!


^